Review: Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Title: Insurgent
Author: Veronica Roth
Published by Harper Teen, May 1, 2012
Hardcover, 525 pages

Here’s a bit of a newer read than the last review! Insurgent is the sequel to Divergent, which was released in 2011. If you haven’t read Divergent, I highly recommend doing so! I’ll try to keep this review as spoiler-free as possible for those who haven’t read either of the books.

My friend Haley recommended Divergent to me last summer. I read it right away and fell in love. The characters are extremely well written, the story is enticing, and the writing is phenomenal. I couldn’t WAIT to get my hands on Insurgent. I was counting down the days ever since the release date was announced!

Just to get you up to speed, Divergent is about a girl named Tris Prior, who lives in a future Chicago where the population is separated into factions. When a person turns 16, they take a test to see which faction they are best suited for. Most people just get one faction as their test result, but Tris’ results are inconclusive—making her Divergent, which the government finds dangerous. Throughout the book, Tris must hide her Divergency and go through with initiation with the faction that she chooses. She falls in love with her instructor, Four. Societal problems ensue.

When the latest installment was released, I went to Barnes & Noble first thing that morning, and read about half of it in the first day (and it was finals week… Woops!). Insurgent is just that good.

Insurgent picks up right where Divergent left off. The first half of the book was extremely fast paced; I couldn’t put it down. Tris and Four have some relationship troubles in Insurgent, whereas in the first book, they have a completely stable and healthy relationship. That’s where things started to slow down for me. It just seemed kind of out of character for both of them, considering the first book. I also got quite frustrated at some of the decisions that Tris made throughout the book.

For the most part, I liked Insurgent but I do feel like parts of it could have been stronger. The ending was a bit confusing, causing me to have to reread it a few times, but then again, it was a GIANT cliffhanger so that confusion could have been on purpose.

Overall, I really liked Insurgent! Normally, I find sequels to be not as good as the first book in a series, but in this case, I think I might have liked the second book a tad more than the first, especially story-wise. If you haven’t started this series yet, I highly recommend you do so now. It’s a great story with great characters. I can’t wait to see where the third and final book takes Tris and Four!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

