Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Title: Cinder
Series: Lunar Chronicles, Book #1
Author: Marissa Meyer
Published by Feiwel & Friends, Jan 3, 2012
Hardcover, 387 pages

Let me just first say that I absolutely LOVE Fairy Tale Retellings. Cinderella as a cyborg?! HECK YES! It was a really intriguing idea, which got me interested in reading the book.

What kept me reading the book, however, was not the fact that Cinder was a cyborg. It was the fact that she was a great character. Marissa Meyer did a fantastic job making her characters relatable AND likable (or unlikable when necessary). Cinder, Iko, Kai, Peony… I could go on and on with all the characters that were well written.

The story was very fast paced and action packed. It kept me reading until the very end, so much so that I didn’t want it to be over. It was, however, a tad bit predictable… I guessed what would happen about 80 pages in, and most of my predictions turned out to be true, and I’m thinking that some of my other predictions will come true in the sequels. The predictability could’ve been on purpose of course—it IS based on a fairy tale, after all—but I felt that it could’ve used a few more twists and turns to throw off the reader a little bit.

I also felt that the world building could’ve been stronger. The book gave surface details of places, but never got into the inner workings of New Beijing and the Lunar Empire. How did these new societies come to be? What happened in World War IV to make the Earth have so few countries? How are there people breathing on the moon without wearing astronaut gear? These are all questions I’m hoping will be answered later on in the series, because this was one of the few weaknesses of Cinder.

All in all, I thought Cinder was a very strong start to what will no doubt be a stunning series. I can’t wait to see what happens to Cinder, Kai, and the rest of the world in the next three books!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Review: Fairest of All by Serena Valentino « The Book Worm Hole

Leave a Reply

