Judging a Book by its Cover #1

I’m out of town this weekend for a little mini-vacation with my parents. I thought this would be a good time to introduce a new feature I’m planning on doing a couple times a month from now on! Not to say this hasn’t been done by someone else before, but I thought it was appropriate for me.

I’m a graphic design major in college, and so the covers of books are part of what pulls me in. I know that “you can’t judge a book by its cover,” but if a book has an absolutely awful cover, there’s probably no chance of me reading it! I like for books (and all things, really) to be visually pleasing. Its part of what makes me pick up something before I buy it, whether it’s a book, a CD, a movie, or even a package of crackers! Good design can make or break a product.

In this new feature, I’m planning on posting covers of several books that intrigue me based on their covers only (no descriptions!). I’ll explain what I like about them, and what makes them have such a great design.

So without further ado, here is the first installment of “Judging a Book by its Cover.” All of these books were on my Good Reads recommended books list.

 White Cat by Holly Black
I see this book every time I’m in Barnes & Noble and I LOVE the paperback cover. (Not so much on the hardback.) I’ve thought about buying it before, I just never have because I’m not sure what it’s about, but the cover is absolutely stunning in person. The dots, the colors, the fonts… Everything just works together SO well and it’s really, really beautiful.

No One is Here Except All of Us by Ramona Ausubel
What’s NOT to love about this cover? I really love the colors that they chose, and the trees are perfection. I love how the text disappears behind them. That gives a three dimensional appearance on an otherwise flat cover. My one nitpick is that I would’ve used the same font on the “N” in “No” as the rest of the cover, because it really sticks out, and not in a good way.

Two more after the “read more!”


Eve & Adam by Michael Grant and Katherine Applegate
WHOA! There is SO MUCH to say about this cover. I find it to be absolutely stunning. I love the contrast of the red and silver apple against the blue-green background. I love the puzzle pieces, especially the ones that are blended into the red of the apple. I love the.. is that lightning? I LOVE the typography, with the two backwards letters. It really makes it stick out. This book doesn’t come out until October, but I already can’t wait to buy it, just so I can stare at the cover. I love the shadows. I noticed the apple’s shadow right away, but I didn’t notice the text had a shadow until just now. It gives it a three-dimensional quality that I just find amazing! I know I wouldn’t hesitate to pick this up off of the shelf! My one nit-pick is that the leaf doesn’t look real. The apple looks like something I could hold in my hand, and then the leaf just looks SO cartoon-ish. Maybe it’s something to do with the story.. Guess I’ll find out when it’s released!

The Vanishers by Heidi Julavits
This is SO BRIGHT. It almost hurts my eyes, but I still love it anyway! I love the way the typography is a play on the title. The words almost vanish into the flowers! I also love that it has such a collage-like feel. The flowers all look like they’ve been cut out of a magazine (which they could have been, for all I know!). This is another one of those books that I would immediately pick up off the shelf at a book store just to see what it was about.. The cover really grabs my attention, and it’s definitely good marketing!

I won’t be back until Tuesday, so this will be my only post until then, but hopefully I’ll have a review ready by the time I get back! ALMOST done with The Snow Child now!

 I really hope you guys enjoyed reading this as much as I enjoyed writing it! I’m definitely going to keep doing these, maybe once a week, or every other week or something. There are so many great book covers out there that I have things to say about! Thanks for reading The Book Worm Hole!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. The Eve and Adam one is breath-taking. I would buy that book based on the cover. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

