Review: Surrender by Elana Johnson

Title: Surrender
Series: Possession, Book #2
Author: Elana Johnson
Published by Simon Pulse, June 5, 2012
Hardcover, 469 pages

So instead of telling you the plot of the book like I normally would, I’m just going to post the Goodreads description, because it’s better than anything I could come up with.

Forbidden love, intoxicating power, and the terror of control…

Raine has always been a good girl. She lives by the rules in Freedom. After all, they are her father’s rules: He’s the Director. It’s because of him that Raine is willing to use her talent—a power so dangerous, no one else is allowed to know about it. Not even her roommate, Vi.

All of that changes when Raine falls for Gunner. Raine’s got every reason in the world to stay away from Gunn, but she just can’t. Especially when she discovers his connection to Vi’s boyfriend, Zenn. Raine has never known anyone as heavily brainwashed as Vi. Raine’s father expects her to spy on Vi and report back to him. But Raine is beginning to wonder what Vi knows that her father is so anxious to keep hidden, and what might happen if she helps Vi remember it. She’s even starting to suspect Vi’s secrets might involve Freedom’s newest prisoner, the rebel Jag Barque….

Okay, so that’s a little bit misleading, because Raine is really more of a rebel than Gunn is. But whatever. The description also doesn’t really tell about Gunn’s part in the story, which I think it should include since he is one of the narrators.

I enjoyed Surrender SO much more than Possession. Most of the problems that I had with Possession were not present in Surrender. I felt more connected with the story and the characters in this book than I did with the first. I also liked that Johnson changed it up a little and gave us new lead characters. Because of that, though, this is more of a companion than a sequel, even though it does follow up on Vi, Jag, and Zenn, and they play a major part in what happens, especially towards the end.

I LOVED Raine and Gunn. I loved that instead of just one side of the story, we got to see two different perspectives of what was happening. Usually books with two different narrators annoy me, but that didn’t happen in Surrender. I think it worked well for the story.

There’s not as much of a love triangle in Surrender as there was in Possession, which I was thankful for. I wanted to like Jag, Vi, and Zenn in Possession, but never warmed up to them. In this book, I ended up liking all three of them. I think Johnson definitely worked to make them more relatable, and it helped a lot. My complaint about Thane Myers not being evil enough in Possession was fixed here with his even-more-evil boss, Director Hightower. In general I don’t have any really big complaints about Surrender like I did with Possession. I do wish that the world building would’ve been a bit stronger, but it was already stronger than in Possession, so maybe it’ll get even better in the next book (is there a next book? I hope so!).

Surrender is loads better than Possession, so if you read Possession and liked it, or even if you just sort-of-kind-of liked it, then I definitely recommend reading this one!

Surrender is in stores today!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

