Review: Across the Universe by Beth Revis

Title: Across the Universe
Series: Across the Universe, Book #1
Author: Beth Revis
Published by Razorbill, January 11, 2011
Hardcover, 416 pages

Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.

Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone-one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship-tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn’t do something soon, her parents will be next.

Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed’s hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there’s only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming. (From Goodreads)

This book has been on my to-read list for over a year. I bought it the week it came out. (I mean, COME ON who can resist that cover?!) But then I gave it to a friend to borrow and I didn’t get it back until earlier this year, and by that time I had lots of other things I wanted to read. I kept putting it off, but I FINALLY got around to reading it!

Sci-Fi isn’t usually my thing. But this was really really really really really good. Most reviews I’ve seen have liked this book, but haven’t loved it. I wouldn’t go as far as to say it was my favorite book, but I did enjoy it a lot, even enough to say that I loved it.

That’s not to say that I don’t think this book had its problems. It did. One of those being the instant-love. If you’re looking for some big romance where it takes a while for the main characters to fall in love, this is not for you. Elder loves Amy because she’s “different.” Period. AKA, she has red hair. He gives no other good reason whatsoever. AND Amy is kind of a whiner. Constantly. Sure, I probably would be whiny, too, given her circumstances, BUT PULL YOURSELF TOGETHER, GIRL. I do think the overall story arc for their characters was good, though, and I’m really excited to read the rest of the series.

I also really liked the mystery aspect of this book. I mean, I figured out what was going on WAY before Amy and Elder did, but it was still a nice addition. And normally, I really dislike books where the narrators of each chapter switch, but I kind of got into it with this, and I don’t think it would’ve worked nearly as well if it was JUST from Amy or Elder’s point of view instead of both.

I know this review is kind of late, given that this book has been out for over a year and a half, but I think that if you haven’t read it that you definitely should. It may not be the best thing you will ever read, but it was entertaining for the most part. I’ll definitely be reading the sequel after I finish a couple of others that I need to read first!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

